• 1978-1979 – Deputy of Hinds County under Sheriff J.D. McAdory
  • 1980-1990 – Jackson Police Officer
  • 1992-2006 – Deputy of Hinds County under Malcolm McMillin
    • Jail
    • Patrol Divison
    • Warrants Division
    • Intelligence Unit (Formed and Commanded by Les Tannehill)
    • Flex Unit (Formed and Commanded by Les Tannehill)
    • Investigations Division, Lieutenant
    • FBI Fugitive Task Force, Warrant Officer
    • ATF Cease Fire Task Force
    • US Marshal’s Task Force
  • 2013-2016 Part-time Investigator for Simpson County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2006-Present – Owner of Affirmative Investigations and Security
  • Volunteer with Horses for Handicapped for over 35 years
    • Previously served as Vice President
    • Previously served as President
  • 2021-Present – Deputy Sheriff under Sheriff Lee Vance


  • 1980 Graduate of the Jackson Police Department Training Academy
  • Police Stress Management Training (Mississippi College)
  • Risk Management Training (National Sheriff’s Association)
  • Self-Defense Shooting (Mid-South Institute of Self Defense)
  • Nationally Certified Mounted Police Instructor (Mounted Police Training and Equipment Company)
  • Undercover Planning for Survival & Success (Mississippi Bureau of Narcotics)
  • Identifying of Potentially Violent Individuals (Hinds Community College)
  • Computer Security Training (United States Department of Justice)
  • Tactical Training & Building Entry (ATF) and the United States Department of Justice
  • Strategic Problem Solving (United States Department of Justice)
  • Defensive Driving
  • Criminal Investigations Training
  • Jail Operations Course (National Sheriff’s Association)
  • Response to School Violence Training
  • Active Shooter Training (Advanced Law Enforcement Rapid Response Training)


  • 7 Officer of the Year Awards
  • 61 Written Commendations
  • Billy Hickman Award – 2nd Runner Up
  • Mississippi State Attorney General’s Tri-County Officer of the Year Award
  • WLBT 3’s Metro Top Cop
  • Hinds County Sheriff’s Meritorious Medal
  • Hinds County Sheriff’s Commendation Award